The first Sikh prophet, Guru Nanak Dev Ji was born in 1469 and the 10th and last Sikh prophet, Guru Gobind Singh Ji went to his heavenly abode in 1708. The Sikh religion progressed very well during the time of the living Sikh Gurus under the Guru’s proper guidance. While Guru Nanak Dev Ji started the Sikh religion by preaching against the caste system, animal sacrifice and fasting, Guru Gobind Singh Ji completed its form by requiring all Sikhs to be baptized. Many Sikhs who were very close to Guru Sahib wrote Rehatnamas based on his teachings, which are called the Sikh code of conduct. All the Gurus preached for service to humanity, sharing with the needy, and praising God.

Guru Angad Dev Ji, the 2nd Guru, developed the Gurmukhi script of the Punjabi language.

Guru Amar Das Ji, the 3rd Guru, wrote the hymns, which are sung at the death ceremony.

Guru Ram Das Ji, the 4th Guru, wrote the hymns which are sung at the time of marriage.

Guru Arjan Dev Ji, the 5th Guru, compiled his hymns and those of the first four Gurus into the Adi Granth.

Guru Gobind Singh Ji added the 9th Guru’s hymns into the Adi Granth and completed Granth Sahib.

In 1708, Guru Gobind Singh Ji asked Sikhs to follow Granth Sahib and declared that Granth Sahib will be eternal Guru of the Sikhs in the future. So by the time Guru Gobind Singh Ji left the Earth the Sikhs had their own language, holy Guru Granth Sahib Ji, religious places, baptism ceremony, code of conduct, marriage, and their own death ceremony. As such the Sikh religion is completely independent from all other religions.

Gurus of Sikh Dharma:

  1. Guru Nanak dev ji
  2. Guru Angad Dev ji
  3. Guru Amar Das ji
  4. Guru Ram Das ji
  5. Guru Arjan Dev ji
  6. Guru Hargobind ji
  7. Guru Har Rai ji
  8. Guru Har Krishan ji
  9. Guru Teg Bahadur ji
  10. Guru Gobind Singh ji
  11. Guru Granth Sahib ji